Specific Charges for 2013-2014

All Specific Charges are in addition to each committee's "General" Charge in the Council Bylaws

  1. Continue discussions concerning undergraduate research. Follow up on recommendations that aimed at raising the awareness of students, faculty, and the general public and to discuss innovative ideas that were raised last year by the committee. Explore ideas for increasing the scope of undergraduate research opportunities. Consider the best practices in place at Penn.

  2. Continue present conversations with Business Services as the bookstore is reorganized.

  3. Continue annual dialogue with the Dean of Admissions Eric Furda at a joint meeting with the Senate Committee on Students and Educational Policy (SCSEP).

  4. Review and discuss this Committee’s general charge and identify two or three issues that should be given the highest priority for the committee’s work in academic year 2014-15.

Committee Members


Steve Kimbrough*


Leo Charney


Sue White


Frederick Dickinson
Paula Henthorn*
Michael McGarvey*
Ani Nenkova*
Mecky Pohlschroder*
Barbara Riegel*
Rahim Rizi

Graduate/professional students:

Akriti Bahal
Ruoyun Wang

Undergraduate students:

Jonathan Korn
Yessenia Moreno


Melissa Hartz
Laurie-Ellen Shumaker


Suzanne Oh*

*Indicates reappointment as chair or member.