Specific Charges for 2004-2005

All Specific Charges are in addition to each committee's "General" Charge in the Council Bylaws

1. Investigate new procedures that the Admissions Office might effectively apply to increase the diversity of the entering class of the student body.
2. Investigate (i) the effectiveness of the University’s communication of its need-blind admissions policy to prospective and actual undergraduate applicants and (ii) whether the University’s communications are reaching an appropriate number of qualified prospective undergraduate applicants.
3. Monitor the Admissions Office’s progress in moving away from a paper-based application and records system.
4. Investigate the adequacy of the University’s marketing to and communication with matriculated students concerning the availability of scholarship aid.

Committee Members

Paul Shaman (statistics)






Jonathan Block (Math)
Dennis DeTurck (math)*
Laurie Loevner (radiol/med)*
Frank Norman (Psych)
Paul Shaman (statistics)
Margaret Beale Spencer (educ)*
Robert St. George (history)
Eileen Sullivan-Marx (nursing)*

Graduate/professional students:


Undergraduate students:

Jennifer Choi (COL’05)
Lauren Hedvat (EAS’06)
Rohini Khanna (COL’05)


Jennifer Sweda (Van Pelt Library)



*Indicates reappointment as chair or member.