Specific Charges for 2008-2009

All Specific Charges are in addition to each committee's "General" Charge in the Council Bylaws

  1. Develop more concrete suggestions for increasing diversity among standing faculty at Penn.
  2. Recommend a series of qualitative methods for assessing Penn?s campus climate that might be used in collaboration with the data collected from the COFHE survey, in an attempt to explain and address any potential issues.
  3. Continue to work with the Office of the Provost to ensure that a version of the diversity webpage has been examined and critiqued (in preparation for on-line accessibility by 2009-2010).
  4. Review and discuss the committee?s general charge and identify two or three issues that should be given highest priority for the committee?s work in AY 2009-2010.

Committee Members

Chair: John Jackson






Lisa Lewis

Yvonne Patersons

Andres Pinto

Jorge Santiago

Yolanda Slaughter

Howard Stevenson

Nancy Tkac

Graduate/professional students:

Esther Agbaje

Christa Heyward

Undergraduate students:

Ben Alisuag

Dennie Zastrow


Lisa Linn De Barona

Aiasha B. Saalim Graham


Omua Ahonkuai

Michelle Wells Lockett

*Indicates reappointment as chair or member.