Williams Symposium on Proof
2:00 - 5:00 PM | Friday, November 9, 2012 | Michael A. Fitts Auditorium, Golkin 100

"The Nature of Proof: A Symposium"
with speakers Scott Aaronson (MIT), Dennis DeTurck (Penn), Solomon Feferman (Stanford), and David Rudovsky (Penn).

Scott Aaronson is the TIBCO Career Development Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at M.I.T. This year he received the Alan T. Waterman Award from the National Science Foundation in recognition of his work on computational complexity which explores the limits of quantum computers. He has also received the Junior Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching from M.I.T.

Dennis DeTurck is the Robert A. Fox Leadership Professor in the School of Arts and Sciences of the University of Pennsylvania, Professor of Mathematics, and Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. This year he and his coauthors, Herman Gluck, Daniel Pomerleano and David Shea Vela-Vick, were awarded the Chauvenet Prize of the Mathematical Association of America for their paper "The Four Vertex Theorem and its Converse." He has also received the SAS Ira Abrams Award for Distinguished Teaching, the University's Lindback Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the M.A.A.'s Haimo Award for Distinguished Teaching. 

Solomon Feferman is the Patrick Suppes Family Professor of Humanities and Sciences, Emeritus and Professor of Mathematics and Philosophy, Emeritus at Stanford University. He was awarded the 2003 Rolf Schock Prize in Logic and Philosophy by the  Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences "for his works on the arithmetization of metamathematics, transfinite progressions of theories, and predicativity."

David Rudovsky is a Senior Fellow of the University's Law School and one of the nation’s leading civil rights and criminal defense attorneys. In 1986, he was awarded a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship for his work on human rights. This year, he received his fifth Harvey Levin Award for Excellence in Teaching from the Law School; he has also received the University's Lindback Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The symposium is sponsored by:
The Thomas and Yvonne Williams Fund for the Advancement of Logic and Philosophy
The Provost's Fund for the Year of Proof

About the Williams Lecture

The Thomas and Yvonne Williams Fund for the Advancement of Logic and Philosophy has been established at the University of Pennsylvania to expose a wide audience to the value of the correct application of reason. The goal is to present logic as the formal study of reason and philosophy as the application of reason to significant problems in human experience. The fund will support a variety of educational activities including a university-level lecture series as well as lectures and seminars at the upper-school level. The fund's academic director is Scott Weinstein, director of the program in Logic, Information and Computation. An advisory board, under the direction of Thomas Williams and Scott Weinstein, assists the fund in defining programs.

Thomas Williams, C’77, GEE’81, studied logic and philosophy at the University of Pennsylvania and went on to complete a successful career in electronic trading of financial instruments. He established the fund because of the profound influence the study of logic has had in his approach to technology, finance and entrepreneurship